What to Expect
In the Municipal Court, your first appearance is referred to as an Arraignment. During this time you will be called upon to enter a plea for the charge preferred against you.
- You may plead guilty indicating that you admit you committed the offense and do not wish to have a trial. Judgment will be rendered at this time.
- You may plead no consent indicating you do not admit to committing the charge but you do not wish to contest the charge and have a trial. Judgment will be rendered at this time.
- You may plead not guilty indicating to the court that you wish to contest the charge and exercise your right to a trial. You will receive a trial date that will be scheduled according to the charge and officer availability.
- No cut-off shorts
- No short shorts/skirts showing excessive amounts of skin
- No spaghetti strap shirts or tank tops
- No clothing which displays vulgar or offensive language and/or pictures
- No hats, sunglasses, or bandanas are to be worn in the courtroom
- No flip-flops
No cell phones or pagers are allowed in the courtroom with the exception of being used for evidence purposes.
Mississippi law allows for the prepayment of most traffic tickets prior to the court date. Please refer to the back of your uniform traffic citation for more information. Should you receive a payable infraction citation, and pay in full on or before the court date provided; you need not appear in court.
- Juvenile Driving Class
It is available to those who are under the age of 21 and have not had a ticket in the last year. You must bring your parent or guardian with you to court. A list of schools that have been approved by the judge will be provided to you at the time of the court. It is your responsibility to bring proof that you have completed the class in person within the 30-day time frame allotted with proof that you are a full-time student. If you fail to do so, you will be responsible for the full fine normally associated with the ticket.
- Adult Driving Class
It is available to those who are over the age of 21. The stipulations that qualify you for this class are that you must pay the price of the ticket and an additional fee of $10 to the State of Mississippi. To qualify for the class, you must not possess a CDL or have had a ticket of any kind in the last 3 years. A list of schools that have been approved by the judge will be provided to you at the time of the court. It is your responsibility to bring proof that you have completed the class in person or online within the 30-day time frame allotted.