Mayor’s Youth Council

Mayor's Youth Council

Mission Statement

To serve the City of Ocean Springs by providing a forum that educates local youth to the various workings of city business and allows youth to be a proactive voice in addressing ideas and concerns in the community.

About Us

The Mayor’s Youth Council provides Ocean Springs’s young people with an active role in addressing ideas and concerns in the community. High school juniors and seniors are selected to serve as volunteer representatives. The Council members reach out to the Ocean Springs teens, informing them of existing opportunities and listen to suggestions on what the city can do to improve its youth oriented efforts. The City of Ocean Springs, in partnership with the Ocean Springs School District, has sponsored the Mayor’s Youth Council since 2007. The MYC meets as a whole twice a month to participate in team building trainings, leadership seminars and workshops. 24 representatives are appointed to a one-year term. Throughout the school year, they meet to plan, organize, market and execute community service projects. The MYC also volunteers for city wide functions such as Cruisin’ the Coast, the Peter Anderson Art and Crafts Festival and the Annual Christmas Tree Lighting.

MYC Officers 2019-2020

Anthony Taylor - President

Harrison Clark - Vice President

Jordyn Cook - Secretary

Darby Lyndall - Special Events Coordinator

MYC Representatives 2019-2020

Aaryan Piracha

Alexis Shwartz

AnnaBeth Adams

Ashton Rubio

Bethany Toche

Cooper Doychak

Elisabeth Strunk

Erin Kilpatrick

Evan Cain

Evan Joachim

Georgia Davis

Hannah Smith

Hema Patel

Meredith Dudte

Roslyn Inabinette

Sophia Diaz

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1800, Ocean Springs, MS 39566-1800
Delivery Address: 1018 Porter Avenue, Ocean Springs, MS 39564