If you have an emergency, call 911 immediately. For non-emergency contact, please call Ocean Springs Police Department dispatch at 228-875-2211.
Police Chief Mark Dunston
Welcome to the online home of the Ocean Springs Police Department (OSPD).
As sworn law enforcement officers and civilians, we strive to provide effective and reliable police services to the citizens, merchants, and visitors of our City. Together, we can identify and resolve issues which affect the safety and security of our community.
Chief Mark S. Dunston leads the Ocean Springs Police Department. He directs operations with the assistance of a Deputy Chief, three Captains, and an Executive Assistant. This administrative team oversees patrol, traffic, investigations, animal control, task force, corrections, dispatch, records, warrants, the reserve officer program, training, and accreditation.
If you are interested in employment with Ocean Springs Police Department, please refer to the information and video included below the Quick Links buttons.
Ocean Springs Police Department is accredited by the Mississippi Law Enforcement Accreditation Commission (MSLEAC), which establishes professional standards for Mississippi law enforcement agencies. For more information about MSLEAC and accreditation, click HERE.
Please click the buttons below for various links and pages that may be of interest to you.
Law Enforcement Careers with Ocean Springs Police Department
To be considered for employment with Ocean Springs Police Department, complete and submit your basic Online City Employment Application or the printable City Application to the City's Human Resources Department. Within a few days, you should receive an email with information on required Civil Service testing. You must respond to the Civil Service email to confirm testing.
NOTE: Candidates for lateral employment as a full-time certified police officer from one law enforcement agency to the OSPD are exempt from the physical agility test ONLY if there is no lapse in certification AND the certification is with the State of Mississippi. The written test is required for all applicants regardless of certification.
OSPD Police Officer Job Description
Certified Laterals: $18.00-$23.49/hour; $41,040-53,000 annual for 2,280 hours
Entry Level: $18.00/hour; $41,040 annual for 2,280 hours
Certified Part-Time (not Reserve): $16.00/hour
OSPD Dispatcher Job Description
Starting Pay Rate: $13.00/hour
Experienced = Training and experience will be evaluated to determine salary.
Pay rates listed are effective as of 10/01/2021.
Reserve Officer (Volunteer) Program
Reserve Director Email [email protected]
Thank you for your interest in the Ocean Springs Police Reserve Program.
NOTE: The Reserve Officer process and application are different from the City's employment process and application. In order to be considered for acceptance into the Program, you must complete the OSPD Reserve Application, then save the file, then email it directly to the OSPD Reserves Director Torrey Hargrow at [email protected].
Ocean Springs Police Reserve Officers are expected to provide a MINIMUM of 20 hours each month as a volunteer. These hours consist of duties at functions and events such as (but not limited to) Cruisin’ the Coast, Halloween, Peter Anderson Festival, various parades including Mardi Gras, 1699 Celebration, and Ocean Springs School District functions including athletic events. In addition to these recurring events, Reserve Officers assist in emergency situations including hurricanes, civil disturbances, gas leaks, fires, floods, etc.
Within two years of being sworn in as a Reserve Officer, you must enter the Reserve Law Enforcement Academy and successfully complete the curriculum. (If you are a current State Certified Law Enforcement Officer, then you already meet this requirement.) These Academy classes last approximately 16 weeks, typically requiring your attendance on Tuesday and Thursday evenings and some Saturdays. If you fail to enter the Academy within 2 years, then you will be removed from the Reserve Program until you are able to enter the Academy. If you fail to graduate from the Academy, then your Reserve Program membership will be terminated. Completion of the Academy obligates you to a minimum of one year of post Academy service to the Ocean Springs Police Reserve, in order that we may recover some of the cost of your Academy attendance. Additional training within the Ocean Springs Police Department will be ongoing throughout your service.
The Ocean Springs Police Reserve Program is a volunteer organization, and, if accepted as a member, you will not receive any financial benefits or other reimbursements. Police Reserve membership may be terminated by the Ocean Springs Police Department at any time as deemed appropriate. Membership in the Ocean Springs Police Reserve Program requires a tremendous personal commitment of your time and energy. You should give this serious reflection and discussion with your immediate family.