Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Requests for copies of public records are handled by the City Clerk’s Office. Get the Public Records Request form. An hourly fee applies for time/research, and a copy fee applies per page. As allowed by law, we have 7 days to process the request.
Show All Answers
You should call 911 only in an emergency when immediate police, fire, and/or medical assistance is needed. For example: to report a crime in progress, a crash with injury, or a life-threatening situation. Otherwise, use the non-emergency number 228-875-2211.
We are located at 3810 Bienville Boulevard in Ocean Springs, Mississippi, between the Ocean Springs Fire Department and the Ocean Springs Civic Center.
The Ocean Springs Police Department operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week: call 911 for emergencies and 228-875-2211 for non-emergencies.
The Records Office and the front entrance to our building are open only from 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday (excluding city holidays).
The back entrance to our building is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. There is a Dispatch call button on the wall in the back lobby in case a phone is not available.
If you have received a ticket from Ocean Springs Police Department, contact the Ocean Springs Municipal Court at 228-875-5009 to ask about cost and payment. Their hours are 8 am to 4 pm on Wednesday, and 8 am to 5 pm on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday (excluding city holidays).
There are two ways to file a report with Ocean Springs Police Department:
NOTE: You cannot file a police report over the phone.
Call 911, and follow the instructions of the dispatcher. If it’s a minor collision with no injuries, you can call the non-emergency number at 228-875-2211.
If you see flashing lights behind you, you should pull to the right and slow down. When an officer is trying to stop you, you should pull off of the roadway when it is safe and come to a stop. If you are stopped at night, turn your interior dome light on. Limit your movements inside your vehicle until the officer approaches and requests your license and insurance information. Understand that traffic stops are inherently unpredictable in the eyes of an officer, and reaching into your glove box, purse, or pocket as the officer approaches only adds to an already tense situation.
Yes. More often than not, a Police Officer will ask the driver and passengers to remain in the car. However, a Police Officer has the authority to order the driver or passenger to exit the car. The United States Supreme Court ruled on this question in Pennsylvania v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106 (1977) and Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S. 408 (1997)
A Police Officer can search a motor vehicle with your consent, or without your consent with a search warrant, or without consent or a warrant given the officer meets one of the recognized exceptions to the search warrant requirement. Among these exceptions are probable cause, plain view, incident to arrest, and inventory searches.
Yes, you may record the officer as long as it does not interfere with the officer’s duties, create a public disturbance, or create an unsafe environment for you or others, such as stepping out in traffic to accomplish the recording.
In the State of Mississippi, an operator of a motor vehicle must possess a valid driver’s license and proof of insurance.
The State of Mississippi does not require a firearms permit or registration of any kind for a person to openly carry a firearm or to carry the firearm in the person’s vehicle. If you are stopped by an officer for a traffic violation, it would be polite to inform the officer you have a legally-possessed firearm in the car. This is especially helpful if you have to reach the area containing the firearm.
Yes, but only during certain hours, if no arrestee is being booked/fingerprinted at that time, and if appropriate personnel is available. Subject to these conditions, the Ocean Springs Police Department will do public fingerprinting (for employment, licensure, etc.) during these hours:
The cost is $15 for the first card and $5 for each additional card for the same individual. A valid photo ID is required.
The Records Office accepts only EXACT CHANGE and only CASH or MONEY ORDERS. We also do not accept any bill higher than $20. NO EXCEPTIONS.
Notice: Ocean Springs Police Department is not affiliated with Fieldprint or any other third-party scheduler or payment processor for public fingerprinting (for licensure, employment, etc). Ocean Springs Police Department receives the public fingerprinting fee only in person and at the time of service. We do not make appointments for this service.
Incident/crime reports are available to involved parties on a case-by-case basis. The first copy of an incident report is free. Submit your request for these reports in person at the OSPD Records Office. Valid photo ID is required. Under no circumstances do we give out copies of reports that involve juveniles.
Accident/crash reports are available online for a cost of $25 each through the State of Mississippi eCrash portal. They also are available at a cost of $20 each when you request in person at the OSPD Records Office. NOTE: Parking lot accidents are not on the eCrash portal; they are available only through our Records Office, and the cost is $20 each.
The Ocean Springs Police Department does not accept requests for individual criminal history checks. You may obtain your Identity History Summary (aka criminal history check) through the FBI’s Criminal Justice Information Systems Division. Visit the FBI Website for information and instructions. If the link is broken, go to www.fbi.gov and use the search for Identity History Summary.
Residents of the City of Ocean Springs may obtain a personal OSPD background check through our Records Office at a cost of $15 each. This covers only the requesting individual’s history within the jurisdiction of the Ocean Springs Police Department. You cannot obtain a background check on someone other than yourself.NOTE: An Ocean Springs mailing address does not necessarily mean that you live within the city limits of Ocean Springs. Background checks are available only to residents within the city limits.
No. A restraining order can only be issued by a court.
To report a theft, call 228-875-2211.Most thefts are opportunistic. In other words, some circumstance made it easy for the theft to take place. For example, never leave valuable objects (laptop, cell phone, purse, wallet, etc.) in open view inside your parked car.
To help in case your property is stolen in the future, try to keep an inventory with serial numbers and identification markings. Place the list in a safe place or two... maybe keep a list at home and also email yourself a copy of the list. With the public’s help, we can reduce thefts, recover more stolen property, and arrest more thieves.
To speak with or leave a message for the detective/investigator assigned to your case, call the OSPD's non-emergency number 228-875-2211.
You may notify us that you’ll be gone, but the police department does not provide private security for your home, nor do we in any way guarantee the security of an individual property.